Current Section Officers

Section Officers 2016-2017

Agriculture, Forestry & Aquaculture:

Position Name &
Term of Office
Contact Information
Chair Roman J. Miller
(2017-2018)
Eastern Mennonite University
(retired)
romanjaymiller@gmail.com
Vice-Chair (vacant)
(2017-2018)
Secretary Edward N. Sismour
(2017-2018)
Virginia State University
Agricultural Research Station
esismour@vsu.edu
Editor Edward N. Sismour
(2015-2018)
Virginia State University
Agricultural Research Station
esismour@vsu.edu
Councilor M. David Crosby
(2015-2018)
Virginia State University
Cooperative Extension
dcrosby@vsu.edu

Astronomy, Math & Physics:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Thomas C. Mosca III
(2017-2018)
Rappahannock Community College
Dept. of Mathematics
tmosca@rappahannock.edu
Vice-Chair Charles R. Crook
(2017-2018)
Rappahannock Community College
Dept. of Chemistry & Physics
ccrook@rappahannock.edu
Secretary Joseph D. Rudmin
(2017-2018)
James Madison University
Dept. of Integrated Sciences & Technology
rudminjd@jmu.edu
Editor Gregory A. Topasna
(2017-2020)
Virginia Military Institute
Dept. of Physics & Astronomy
topasnaga@vmi.edu
Councilor Donal B. Day
(2016-2019)
University of Virginia
Dept. of Physics
dbd@virginia.edu

Biology:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Michael S. Price
(2017-2018)
Liberty University
Dept. of Biology & Chemistry
msprice2@liberty.edu
Vice-Chair April Wynn
(2017-2018)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Biological Sciences
awynn@umw.edu
Secretary Deborah L. Zies
(2017-2018)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Biological Sciences
dzies@umw.edu
Editor Pei Zhang
(2017-2020)
Liberty University
Dept. of Biology & Chemistry
pzhang@liberty.edu
Councilor R. Parrish Waters
(2016-2019)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Biological Sciences
rwaters@umw.edu

Biomedical  & General Engineering:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Seth Weinberg
(2017-2018)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
shweinberg@vcu.edu
Vice-Chair (vacant)
(2017-2018)
Secretary Bethany Young
(2017-2018)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
youngbm2@vcu.edu
Editor Paul Wetzel
(2016-2019)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
pawetzel@vcu.org
Councilor Thomas W. Haas
(2017-2021)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
thass@vcu.edu

Botany:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Marion B. Lobstein
(2017-2018)
Northern Virginia Community College
(retired)
mblobstein@earthlink.net
Vice-Chair Joshua A. Kincaid
(2017-2018)
Shenandoah University
Environmental Studies Program
jkincaid@su.edu
Secretary Andrea Weeks
(2017-2018)
George Mason University
Dept. of Biology & Ted R. Bradley Herbarium
aweeks3@gmu.edu
Editor (vacant)
(2015-2018)
Councilor Woodward S. Bousquet
(2016-2019)
Shenandoah University
Environmental Studies Program & Biology Dept.
wbousque@su.edu

Chemistry:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Charles M. Bump
(2017-2018)
Hampton University
Dept. of Chemistry
charles.bump@hamptonu.edu
Vice-Chair Edmund M. N. Ndip
(2017-2018)
Hampton University
Dept. of Chemistry
edmund.ndip@hamptonu.edu
Secretary Thomas C. Devore
(2017-2018)
James Madison University
Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry
devoretc@jmu.edu
Editor Thomas C. Devore
(2015-2018)
James Madison University
Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry
devoretc@jmu.edu
Councilor George C. Grant
(2017-2020)
Tidewater Community College
(retired)
georgecgrant@mac.com

Data Science, Computing & Statistics:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Robert M. Marmorstein
(2017-2018)
Longwood University
Dept. of Computer Science
marmorsteinrm@longwood.edu
Vice-Chair Bruce Chittenden
(2017-2018)
Hampton University
Dept. of Computer Science
bruce.chittenden@hampton.edu
Secretary Elaine M. Dietz
(2017-2018 interim)
Hampton University
Dept. of Computer Science
elaine.dietz@hampton.edu
Editor Yen-Hung (Frank) Hu
(2017-2020)
Norfolk State University
Dept. of Computer Science
yhu@nsu.edu
Councilor Robert Marmorstein
(2017-2020)
Longwood University
Dept. of Computer Science
marmorsteinrm@longwood.edu

Education:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Carleitta Paige-Anderson
(2017-2018)
Virginia Union University
Dept. of Natural Sciences
clpaige@vuu.edu
Vice-Chair Kurt Y. Michael
(2017-2018)
Liberty University
School of Education
kmichael9@liberty.edu
Secretary Deborah L. Neely-Fisher
(2017-2018)
Reynolds Community College
School of Mathematics, Science & Engineering
dneely-fisher@reynolds.edu
Editor Theresa M. Grana
(2016-2019)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Biological Sciences
tgrana@umw.edu
Councilor Se W. Jeong
(2017-2020)
University of Virginia
Dept. of Pathology
swj3af@virginia.edu

 Entomology:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Kal Ivanov
(2017-2018)
Virginia Museum of Natural History
kal.ivanov@vmnh.virginia.gov
Vice-Chair Girish Neelakanta
(2017-2018)
Old Dominion University
Dept. of Biological Sciences
gneelaka@odu.edu
Secretary Hameeda Sultana
(2017-2018)
Old Dominion University
Dept. of Biological Sciences
hsultana@odu.edu
Editor Nicole Quinn
(2017-2020)
Virginia Tech
Dept. of Entomology
quinni01@vt.edu
Co-Councilors Thomas P Kuhar
(2016-2019)Girish Neelakanta
(2016-2019)
Virginia Tech
Dept. of Entomology
tkuhar@vt.edu

Environmental Science:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Michael L. Bass
(2017-2018)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Earth & Environmental Science
mbass@umw.edu
Vice-Chair James Haluska
(2017-2018)
Old Dominion University
Dept. of Ocean, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
jhalu001@odu.edu
Secretary Chris Labosier
(2017-2018)
Longwood University
Dept. of Biological & Environmental Sciences
labosiercf@longwood.edu
Editor (vacant)
(2017-2020)
Councilor Richard S. Groover
(2016-2019)
Reynolds Community College
School of Mathematics, Science & Engineering
rgroover@reynolds.edu

Medical Sciences:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Nehru Viji Sankaranarayanan
(2017-2018)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Medicinal Checmistry
nvsankaranar@vcu.edu
Vice-Chair Kathryn Schwienteck
(2017-2018)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Pharmacology & Toxicology
schwienteckl@vcu.edu
Secretary S. Lauren Kyte
(2017-2018)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Pharmacology & Toxicology
kytesl@vcu.edu
Editor Ryan Mischel
(2015-2018)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Pharmacology & Toxicology
mischelr@vcu.edu
Councilor (vacant)
(2017-2020)

Natural History & Biodiversity:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Nancy D. Moncrief
(2017-2018)
Virginia Museum of Natural History
nancy.moncrief@vmnh.virginia.gov
Vice-Chair Brooke Haiar
(2017-2018)
 Lynchburg College
Dept. of Environmental Sciences
haiar@lynchburg.edu
Secretary Kimberly J. Bolyard
(2017-2018)
Bridgewater College
Dept. of Biology
kbolyard@bridgewater.edu
Editor Ralph P. Eckerlin
(2016-2019)
Northern Virginia Community College
(retired)
reckerlin@nvcc.edu
Councilor Alan B. Griffith
(2016-2019)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Biological Sciences
agriffit@umw.edu

Psychology:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Hilary Stebbins
(2017-2018)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Psychology
hstebbin@umw.edu
Vice-Chair (vacant)
(2017-2018)
Secretary Amy Coren
(2017-2018)
Northern Virginia Community College
Socail & Profession Sciences Division
acoren@nvcc.edu
Editor (vacant)
(2017-2020)
Councilor (vacant)
(2014-2017)

Structural Biology, Biochemistry & Biophysics:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Nathan T. Wright
(2017-20178
James Madison University
Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry
wrightnt@jmu.edu
Vice-Chair Randall Reif
(2017-2018)
 University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Chemistry
rreif@umw.edu
Secretary Rafique Islam
(2017-2018)
George Mason University
School of Systems Biology
rislam3@maonlive.gmu.edu
Editor (vacant)
(2017-2020)
Councilor (vacant)
(2017-2020)