Current Section Officers

 Section Officers 2016-2017

Agriculture, Forestry & Aquaculture:

Position Name &
Term of Office
Contact Information
Chair Roman J. Miller
(2016-2017)
Eastern Mennonite University
Dept. of Biology
millerrj@emu.edu
Vice-Chair Laban K. Rutto
(2016-2017)
Virginia State University
Agricultural Research Station
lrutto@vsu.edu
Secretary Edward N. Sismour
(2016-2017)
Virginia State University
Agricultural Research Station
esismour@vsu.edu
Editor Edward N. Sismour
(2015-2018)
Virginia State University
Agricultural Research Station
esismour@vsu.edu
Councilor M. David Crosby
(2015-2018)
Virginia State University
Cooperative Extension
dcrosby@vsu.edu

Astronomy, Math & Physics:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Thomas C. Mosca III
(2016-2017)
Rappahannock Community College
Dept. of Mathematics
tmosca@rappahannock.edu
Vice-Chair Charles R. Crook
(2016-2017)
Rappahannock Community College
Dept. of Chemistry & Physics
ccrook@rappahannock.edu
Secretary Joseph D. Rudmin
(2016-2017)
James Madison University
Dept. of Integrated Sciences & Technology
rudminjd@jmu.edu
Editor Gregory A. Topasna
(2014-2017)
Virginia Military Institute
Dept. of Physics & Astronomy
topasnaga@vmi.edu
Councilor Donal B. Day
(2016-2019)
University of Virginia
Dept. of Physics
dbd@virginia.edu

Biology:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Pieter A. deHart
(2016-2017)
Unity College
School of Biodiversity
pdehart@unity.edu
Vice-Chair Pei Zhang
(2016-2017)
Liberty University
Dept. of Biology & Chemistry
pzhang@liberty.edu
Secretary Michael S. Price
(2016-2017)
Liberty University
Dept. of Biology & Chemistry
msprice2@liberty.edu
Editor Deborah L. Zies
(2016-2019)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Biological Sciences
dzies@umw.edu
Councilor R. Parrish Waters
(2016-2019)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Biological Sciences
rwaters@umw.edu

Biomedical  & General Engineering:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Christopher A. Lemmon
(2016-2017)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
clemmon@vcu.edu 
Vice-Chair (vacant)
(2016-2017)
Secretary Lauren Griggs
(2016-2017)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
griggsla@vcu.edu
Editor Paul Wetzel
(2016-2019)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
pawetzel@vcu.org
Councilor Thomas W. Haas
(2014-2017)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Biomedical Engineering
thass@vcu.edu

Botany:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Woodward S. Bousquet
(2016-2017)
Shenandoah University
Environmental Studies Program & Biology Dept.
wbousque@su.edu
Vice-Chair Andrea Weeks
(2016-2017)
George Mason University
Dept. of Biology & Ted R. Bradley Herbarium
aweeks3@gmu.edu
Secretary Marion B. Lobstein
(2016-2017)
Northern Virginia Community College
(retired)
mblobstein@earthlink.net
Editor (vacant)
(2015-2018)
Councilor Woodward S. Bousquet
(2016-2019)
Shenandoah University
Environmental Studies Program & Biology Dept.
wbousque@su.edu

Chemistry:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Charles M. Bump
(2016-2017)
Hampton University
Dept. of Chemistry
charles.bump@hamptonu.edu
Vice-Chair Edmund M. N. Ndip
(2016-2017)
Hampton University
Dept. of Chemistry
edmund.ndip@hamptonu.edu
Secretary Thomas C. Devore
(2016-2017)
James Madison University
Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry
devoretc@jmu.edu
Editor Thomas C. Devore
(2015-2018)
James Madison University
Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry
devoretc@jmu.edu
Councilor George C. Grant
(2014-2017)
Tidewater Community College
(retired)
georgecgrant@mac.com

Education:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Carleitta Paige-Anderson
(2016-2017)
Virginia Union University
Dept. of Natural Sciences
clpaige@vuu.edu
Vice-Chair Kurt Y. Michael
(2016-2017)
Liberty University
School of Education
kmichael9@liberty.edu
Secretary Deborah L. Neely-Fisher
(2016-2017)
Reynolds Community College
School of Mathematics, Science & Engineering
dneely-fisher@reynolds.edu
Editor Theresa M. Grana
(2016-2019)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Biological Sciences
tgrana@umw.edu
Councilor Charles (Chuck) English
(2014-2017) (*filling in for 2015-2017)
Science Museum of Virginia
cenglish@smv.org

Entomology:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Thomas P. Kuhar
(2016-2017)
Virginia Tech
Dept. of Entomology
tkuhar@vt.edu
Vice-Chair Hameeda Sultana
(2016-2017)
Old Dominion University
Dept. of Biological Sciences
hsultana@odu.edu
Secretary Kal Ivanov
(2016-2017)
Virginia Museum of Natural History
kal.ivanov@vmnh.virginia.gov
Editor Louis Nottingham
(2016-2019)
Virginia Tech
Dept. of Entomology
louisn@vt.edu
Co-Councilors Thomas P Kuhar
(2016-2019)Girish Neelakanta
(2016-2019)
Virginia Tech
Dept. of Entomology
tkuhar@vt.eduOld Dominon University
Dept. of Biological Sciences
gneelaka@odu.edu

Environmental Science:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Michael L. Bass
(2016-2017)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Earth & Environmental Science
mbass@umw.edu
Vice-Chair James Haluska
(2016-2017)
Old Dominion University
Dept. of Ocean, Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
james.haluska@verizon.net
Secretary Chris Labosier
(2016-2017)
Longwood University
Dept. of Biological & Environmental Sciences
labosiercf@longwood.edu
Editor (vacant)
(2014-2017)
Councilor Richard S. Groover
(2016-2019)
Reynolds Community College
School of Mathematics, Science & Engineering
rgroover@reynolds.edu

Medical Sciences:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Maciej Gonek
(2016-2017)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Pharmacology & Toxicology
gonekmm@vcu.org
Vice-Chair Nehru Viji Sankaranarayanan
(2016-2017)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Medicinal Chemistry
nvsankaranar@vcu.edu
Secretary Ajinkya Kawale
(2016-2017)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Pharmacology & Toxicology
kawaleas@vcu.edu
Editor Ryan Mischel
(2015-2018)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Pharmacology & Toxicology
mischelr@vcu.edu
Councilor Bethany David
(2014-2017)
Virginia Commonwealth University
Dept. of Pharmacology & Toxicology
bethany.hoegberg@vcuhealth.org

Natural History & Biodiversity:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Alexander K. Hastings
(2016-2017)
Virginia Museum of Natural History
alexander.hastings@vmnh.virginia.gov
Vice-Chair (vacant)
(2016-2017)
Secretary Nancy D. Moncrief
(2016-2017)
Virginia Museum of Natural History
nancy.moncrief@vmnh.virginia.gov
Editor Ralph P. Eckerlin
(2016-2019)
Northern Virginia Community College
(retired)
reckerlin@nvcc.edu
Councilor Alan B. Griffith
(2016-2019)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Biological Sciences
agriffit@umw.edu

Psychology:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Hilary Stebbins
(2016-2017)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Psychology
hstebbin@umw.edu
Vice-Chair (vacant)
(2016-2017)
Secretary Scott R. Hinze
(2016-2017)
Virginia Wesleyan University
Dept. of Psychology
shinze@vwc.edu
Editor (vacant for 2016-2017)
(2014-2017)
Councilor Hilary Stebbins
(2014-2017)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Psychology
hstebbin@umw.edu

Structural Biology, Biochemistry & Biophysics:

Position Name Contact Information
Chair Nathan T. Wright
(2016-2017)
James Madison University
Dept. of Chemistry & Biochemistry
wrightnt@jmu.edu
Vice-Chair (vacant)
(2016-2017)
Secretary Randall Reif
(2016-2017)
University of Mary Washington
Dept. of Chemistry
rreif@umw.edu
Editor Pablo Sobrado
(2016-2019)
Virginia Tech
Dept. of Biochemistry
psobrado@vt.edu
Councilor (vacant)
(2014-2017)