Virginia Academy of Science Council

The Council of the Virginia Academy of Science consists of the President, the President-Elect, the Vice President, the Secretary, the Treasurer, the three most recent Past Presidents and one member elected by each Section of the Virginia Academy of Science. Members from the Sections shall be elected for three year terms on a rotational basis among the Sections, provided the initial term of a member from a newly established Section shall be specified by Council. In addition to the foregoing, the Chairs of the Standing Committees, the Editor of The Virginia Journal of Science, the Editor of Virginia Scientists, the official Academy Representative to the Board of Trustees of the Science Museum of Virginia, the official representative of the Academy to the American Association for Advancement of Science and National Association of Academies of Science, the Director of the Visiting Scientists Program, and the Director of the Virginia Junior Academy of Science shall be members of Council. In event of vacancies, the President shall make interim appointments until the next election is held; provided however, vacancies of elected officers shall be filled as hereafter provided.